Manchester Collective – Neon

Composer and Producer

‘Neon’ – a piece commissioned by the Manchester Collective will be released on their new album!

We will perform the piece live at London’s Royal Albert hall as part of the BBC Proms
– 19th August 2023


About Neon:
After writing the piece, it was wonderful to be asked to produce the Manchester Collectives new album, due out 23rd June 2023

Inspired by light and life, fusing layers of live electronics and field recordings from Tokyo’s Shinjuku Station with the acoustic performances of the Collective.

“Born of breath, heat and a spark, neon has an enigmatic presence of meaning and significance, all things and nothing. A symbol of the city at night, iconic landmarks and urban design – ablaze light waves vibrating through the air … I hope the interplay in this piece between the ‘digital tape’ performer and the acoustic instruments, allows for a reflection on the presence and value of the hand, as we move ever quickly forward, into the future”


01. Neon 1: Shinjiku (Hannah Peel)
02. Neon 2: Born of Breath (Hannah Peel)
03. Neon 3: Vanishing (Hannah Peel)
04. Quanta (Lyra Pramuk)
05. Joy Boy (Julius Eastman – digital only)
06. Double Sextet: I. Fast (Steve Reich)
07. Double Sextet: II. Slow (Steve Reich)
08. Double Sextet: III. Fast (Steve Reich)

Listen to the new single OUT NOW